Orange – The Color of the Second Chakra

Orange – the undoubtedly energetic color – is the color of the Second Chakra, also known as Sacral Chakra. The actual color we know as orange was referred to in Old English as geoluhread, which means yellow-red. The word “orange” (when used to describe the color) was adopted after the citrus fruit was introduced to English via the Spanish word naranja, (which came from the Sanskrit word nāraṅga – in translation- orange tree) or via Old French orenge, (adapted from the Arabic nāranj, from the Persian nārang, from the Sanskrit nāraṅga). Note that both these versions end (or start, depending on how you look at it!) with the Sanskrit word nāraṅga.

The Sanskrit name for the Sacral Chakra is “Svadhisthana”, which loosely means “your own place”. The most common location for the Sacral Chakra is said to be about three inches below the navel, at the center of your lower belly. Second Chakra is associated with sensuality, and creativity. It is often referred to as the seat of emotions.

Orange in Second Chakra represents the feelings of warmth, enthusiasm, stimulation, nurturing, happiness, freedom, fascination, excitement and relates to our ability to experience pleasure. And… orange definitely calls for attention, and that might very well explain why it is used in traffic signs and advertising all over the world.


Sign Up Here To Receive Your FREE Chakra Meditation!


The possible affirmations to use for honoring the second chakra could be:
“I trust LIFE (the process of Life)”, “I embrace my sensuality”, “I embrace my sexuality”, “I treat my body with respect”, “I am grateful for the joy of being me”, “I have healthy boundaries”, “I enjoy life fully”, “I trust my intuition”, “I am creating art for my own pleasure”, “My life is pleasurable”, “I am joyous”, “Every breath gives me abundance and pleasure”, “My relationships with others and myself are treasured and honored”… Use any (or all of) these or make up your own affirmation(-s) – something that resonates with you! You could also use aromatherapy oils (orange, bergamot, jasmine, rose, patchouli, sandalwood and clary sage), eat oranges, melons, pumpkins, mangoes, passion fruit, coconuts, use all shades of orange in your office and home decor, add orange to your wardrobe and introduce earthy orange tones to your jewelry and accessories and meditate on the color orange (it also improves your focus and concentration, as a side effect!).

Yoga for Sacral Chakra healing should focus on hip opening poses, so Let It go Yoga is of utmost importance and of paramount use for honoring (or just working on) this chakra. Most of the Let It Go Yoga poses (and especially Bound Angle pose) stimulate the abdominal organs to dispel energy imbalance and open the second energy center. Learning how to open and strengthen our second chakra through Let It Go Yoga can also help heal imbalances, as Sacral Chakra is directly tied to our ability to experience pleasure and express our emotions in a healthy way. Doing forgiveness work and letting go of emotional baggage is essential for a healthy Sacral Chakra.
So, time for some Let It Go Yoga, right? Shall we wear some orange?

Contributed by Indra Strong, Certified Let It Go Yoga Teacher since 2001


Do you want to know more about how to incorporate the teachings of 7 chakras into everyday life? Sue Anne and Jim Parsons invite you to sign up for our monthly newsletter and receive a FREE gift – a powerful Chakra Meditation. Sue Anne will be your guide, leading you on an inner journey that will balance your subtle energy fields and leave you uplifted and inspired.


Sign Up Here To Receive Your FREE Chakra Meditation!

2018-03-02T19:42:18+00:00 Let It Go Yoga Blog|0 Comments

Leave A Comment